top of page
Search
  • Benedetto Holley

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Dom Ballard

This week I managed to have a chat with 18-year-old Saints player Dominic Ballard. It was great to ask him a couple of questions regarding the incredible season he's had, from winning promotion with the B team to making his Premier League debut last weekend.


Ballard scored on his debut against Cambridge || Image: Alex Burstow/Getty Images

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Questions and answers below


SFC Blog: "From captaining the B team to promotion to making your Premier League debut: what has been the highlight of your season?"


Dom Ballard: "The highlight of my season was when I made my debut at Cambridge away and scored. However, for the B team I think when we were chasing the title down away at West Brom with a really young inexperienced team and we worked hard to win that game, that was a big moment for me because I think that defined what team we are and why we deserved to win the league."


SFC Blog: "Do you have any teammates that have been really helpful and influential in your development?"


Dom Ballard: "I have been lucky enough to play with many top top players this year, but for me, I play best when I’m in front of Kamari Doyle. You can see our numbers up against each other and see how much each of us has an effect on one another. Without him I wouldn't score as many goals as I do."


SFC Blog: "What is your objective for next season, what would success look like for you next season?"


Dom Ballard: "Next year I really would want to push on to be within the first team squad week in week out and hopefully drive the club back to where they belong in the Premier League."



Dom scored 25 goals and provided 4 assists this season. He also was shortlisted as Premier League 2 Player of the Season earlier this month! A great talent who we are so lucky to have - he has qualities that are very hard to find in young strikers nowadays. Hopefully he gets the first team playing time he deserves next season.


Thanks again Dom, really appreciate it!


// Follow Dominic Ballard on Instagram

bottom of page